Young Masters Juried Art Exhibition 2017

Thursday, March 30, 2017 4:00 PM - Saturday, April 15, 2017 8:00 PM
The Grace Museum
102 Cypress Street Abilene, TX 79601

Abilene Education Foundation (AEF) is proud to present the 10th Annual AEF Young Masters Juried Art Exhibition, which will run from March 31st – April 15th at The Grace Museum in downtown Abilene. The artwork will then be moved to Abilene Teachers Federal Credit Union, 3849 Antilley Road, from April 17th – May 12, 2017.

The juried art competition offers every Advanced Placement (AP) Studio Art student in Abilene ISD an opportunity to have artwork selected for a museum exhibition and to compete for valuable college scholarships. The exhibition is a collaborative effort by AEF, Abilene ISD, and The Grace Museum and will feature works from 40-50 students.

The goals of the exhibition are to celebrate young master artists and their dedicated teachers for demonstrating excellence in artistic expression and education and to recognize that outstanding artistic expression with a quality museum exhibition. The Young Masters exhibition extends the supporting role of AEF with AISD and will impact the future of not only the students selected for the show, but all AP art students by inspiring them to reach their full potential. Additionally, it provides students acclamation that may further enhance opportunities for acceptance into premier higher education art programs.”

All paintings and photography for the show have been professionally framed. Scholarships will be awarded to the Best in Show and all top winners. A color catalog and CD will be presented to all artists selected for the show so they will have permanent documentation for their portfolio. The students also will be able to use the catalog and professional photography of their work as an important part of their college application submissions if they choose to pursue higher education in visual arts.

AP Studio Art teachers for AISD are Amanda Baldwin, Jason Clements, Sherry Griffith, Elizabeth Joy, Marsha Morgan and April Rifenburg.